Sunday Morning Breakfast

Jake and I are typically early risers. I attribute this to his internal alarm clock and my small bladder. It’s RARE that we sleep in past 7:30am unless there was some extraneous circumstance that caused us to stay up past 2am. We were awake at 7 this morning but Henry wanted to keep sleeping so we stayed in bed a little longer, battling against each other in Words With Friends (I’m winning for the first time in ten games!!). Jake had a birthday breakfast with Eric at Screen Door, one of the few local breakfast joints that I have yet to try, partially because the wait is an hour long on the weekends and partially because I’ve tried to go there twice with my brother on a weekday when it was closed. They claim to have the best southern cuisine in Portland, Oregon and some friends from the South have said it lives up to this boast. I’ll make an effort to go in the next few months to offer a full review but today, I just have info on my breakfast. Slightly less special but a great start to the day, nonetheless.

I didn’t make it out of bed early enough to go to the gym before breakfast. My body usually tells me it’s time to eat within about 30 minutes of waking, so I opted for a tasty yet healthy start to my day: oatmeal egg white pancake with blueberries and raspberries.

Protein packed and tasty!

Ingredients (serves 1):

2 Egg whites, whipped with a whisk

1/8-1/4 C Old Fashioned oatmeal, to taste

1/8 t Cinnamon

1/8 t Vanilla

1/8 t Agave or other sweetener

Optional Toppings:

Real maple syrup

Fruit

Greek yogurt

Cottage cheese

Directions:

1. Incorporate ingredients then cook on medium high in a nonstick pan for 3-4 minutes per side.

2. Top with ingredients of your choice!

 

Breakfast was amazing. Warmed my stomach up for elk burgers tonight :). I just finished a 30 minutes NTC Get Lean workout in my living room while watching a movie then hit up Costco to get some necessities for the week! Now to swim or not to swim, that is the question.

See you tomorrow!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Resting with the Pup | irun2eat

  2. Pingback: Healthy Breakfast Roundup | irun2eat

Leave a Reply

