Did I really forget to title this?

Friday

Our softball playoff game was canceled due to the other team’s forfeit. We were bummed to miss the opportunity to play but thankful for a free night and the fact that we made it to the finals game! Can’t wait to play on Friday and WIN :).

My cousins from Michigan were coming to visit but did not expect to be in Portland until around 7. As soon as I left work, I threw on a quick change of clothes and met Jake back at home so we could drive out to Prost! on Mississippi. We were able to sit at Prost! while eating food from the food carts so I got a spicy chicken burrito (the chicken is cooked in chili) and Jake got a meatball sub from Garden State. Four of us shared das boot (2 liters of beer) which could not be set on the table until it was finished. We passed das boot around the table while enjoying our food.

My cousins met us at Prost! Once we were all finished, we walked down to Divine Frozen Yogurt. I was so full post dinner but I could not pass up a new frozen yogurt place. I did not regret this sacrifice as Divine turned out to be my favorite fro yo experience to date. I went with the traditional tart as well as their red velvet and it was BETTER than Yogurtland’s. I prefer a more chocolate-y red velvet and this fro yo delivered. I topped the red velvet with coconut (I see a coconut frosted red velvet cake in my future) and the tart with NERDS (new topping), mochi, and some raspberries. I have big plans to be a serial yogurter at Divine.

Although Jake and I were tired, we had to show my cousins some other sights of the city. We headed over to Portland City Grill for the best city views in downtown Portland. The cousins grabbed a few happy hour items (note: they just bumped their Friday happy hour up to a 9pm start! way better than 10pm) while we just enjoyed a drink. Andy has run 6ish? marathons and Lindsey has run a handful of half marathons. Not only that, these two have traveled across the world to climb mountains! Among others, they climbed Kilamanjaro last year. Yikes!

Saturday

Jake and I rose early as usual and let the cousins sleep in. Once we were all ready, we cruised over to Jam for some breakfast fare.

Jam used to be just a tiny hole in the wall but recently expanded into the building next door.

I loved the high ceilings but especially the way these chandeliers reflected off the mirrors behind the bar.

Andy (cousin), Lindsey (his wife), and Jake all ordered scrambles while I went with the Grand Marnier Challah French Toast. I’ve been a sucker for french toast when out to breakfast even though it is the easiest thing to make at home. I try to cook savory/ more healthy breakfast foods at home which makes sweet treats at breakfast joints that much more special!

Friday afternoon I had prepared some homemade pizza sauce and homemade crust from Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook My Father’s Daughter. It took me a little while to get into this cookbook but lately I’ve had a bunch of recipes tabbed to try. I definitely modified the pizza sauce. The recipe looked something like this:

Heat 2 T olive oil over medium heat, add 4 whole cloves of garlic and saute until fragrant. Add a teaspoon of dried oregano and a teaspoon of crushed red pepper, saute for 1 minute then add 2 cans of diced tomatoes (28oz) with their juices. Add 1 tsp of kosher salt, bring to a boil then turn down heat to simmer for 1 hour. Let cool at room temperature then blend until smooth. Que delicioso!

Margherita Pizza!

I’ve made a couple of homemade crusts and this recipe was good but I don’t think it’s my favorite.

A+L headed to the coast for the afternoon while Jake and I stayed behind. They really wanted to see my bro, Nick, who was working that night at Nostrana. I rallied because I was up way past my bedtime but really enjoyed my time out with the cousins and it was a treat to see Nick in action! We enjoyed dessert and some pre-prohibition cocktails. Nick actually concocted something special for me, knowing that I am a lightweight. I don’t recall the name but it tasted like a fruit smoothie : ). Nostrana is well-known around Portland as excellent fine dining. The restaurant is by reservation only most evenings for dinner through the first part of happy hour.

Sunday

Sunday morning we said goodbye to Andy and Lindsey.

Right after Huddy love-nipped Lindsey.

Fam photo/nasty messy bun.

We left shortly after for a trip up to Washington to visit MarMar (Jake’s only surviving grandparent, his dad’s mom). We planned to make breakfast for her instead of our normal trip out since we had eaten out so much already. We had an extra surprise when Jake’s Aunt Jann was there!

Breakfast was amazing and we had quality conversations while lingering at the breakfast table.

Hey! Good Lookin'

Sunday afternoon, I hung out with Lindsey while Jake and Brandon went to the driving range so Jake could hit balls with his new clubs. I was VERY hungry so we made a detour to Burgerville on the way to church for a fresh raspberry smoothie (made with nonfat frozen yogurt).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was so good but I really need to tone down my eats for the next few weeks until H2C.

The message at church was encouraging and inspiring. Once again, we enjoyed the fellowship of our friends while eating “The Burger Thing”. Closing the weekend with The Next Food Network Star finale! Ahh, we are all caught up now. I feel better :).

We get the keys to our new place today even though neither of us will be home until after 9pm. I guess the move will have to start tomorrow! Laterskies everyone!

Leave a Reply

