The New Plan

I got relieved early yesterday from hanging out with the kiddos. It was really nice to leave early knowing I had a 4-day weekend ahead of me. We would be in Sunriver for sure but for a fun wedding in town on Saturday (pictures to come)!

We “slept in” this morning. I think Jake got up at 6:45 and I did at 7:30 and I STILL didn’t want to get up. Jake is currently doing this:

while I write. Although we both have the day off slash Jake is “working from home”, I have some fun plans to meet Carolynne for coffee and my brother for brunch so Jake will be  flying solo until the afternoon.

I have not worked out once this week, unless you count short walks around the neighborhood with the kids or carrying 35 pound children up and down stairs. My soreness was completely gone Monday from Hood2Coast but I hadn’t recovered from missing a night of sleep. This entire week I set my alarm early with the intention of working out only to be completely powerless against my lack of will to get up. After 2 days of this routine I thought maybe I should be intentional about missing these workouts to give my body a long rest which got me thinking about revamping my routine.

Hood2Coast reignited my love for running races and training distances, a goal I feared to set after being out of distance running for so long. My current fitness goals are the following:

  • Keep my long run distances up, increasing from the 7 miles I ran last Friday.
  • Strength train regularly (2-3 times per week).
  • Do speed/hill/interval training twice a week.
  • Incorporate a tempo run into my training schedule to maintain speed and add another longer run to my training.
  • Workout 5-6 times per week for 1 hour.
I presented these goals to Cayly who studied exercise physiology, has trained for a marathon, worked as a personal trainer, works at a PT clinic, and is about to work at Addidas in product development. This is the plan she came up with:
Day 1: Tempo Run/NTC
Day 2: NTC (a more difficult routine) – I’m also thinking this would be a good day for BodyPump
Day 3: Speed/hill/interval training
Day 4: Rest
Day 5: Long Run
Day 6: NTC – something light on the legs for recovery
Day 7: Speed/hill/interval training OR easy/recovery run OR rest day (I’m instructed to listen to my body)
This plan looks attainable and I think I will start Day 1 on Monday. I do also plan on fitting workouts in this entire weekend. The rest cannot go on for much longer! Tentatively it’s looking like speed work today, long run (just 7-8 miles) tomorrow, speed work or recovery Sunday. I could also use a yoga DVD to do while the kids are napping. Anybody know of a good 30-45 minute routine that is more about stretching and strength than meditation?
I’m off for now but expect posts this weekend. Perhaps the long awaited home tour will come ;). I also have a recipe to share!
Happy Labor Day weekend!!!
2 responses

  1. I hear the P90X yoga video is awesome as well as Kimberly Fowler’s Yoga for Athletes (but definitely not relaxing or easy!) Let me know how they are if you try them 🙂 Anna should have some good suggestions too. Looking forward to breakfast with you tomorrow!

  2. Pingback: Portland Restaurant Tour | irun2eat

Leave a Reply

