Testing out the ‘Pump

Today on the ol’ training schedule is a hard core weight training session. I have been wanting to try out BodyPump for awhile and I knew it would kick my booty since I’ve never done it before so I planned to attend the class this morning. For every “track” I went easy on the weights – at least what I thought was easy – only to really feel the burn at the end of each and every track! I’m going to be sore tomorrow. The great thing about working out in the morning is it always makes breakfast taste extra delicious and my metabolism feels spiked for the entire morning! I prepared some overnight oats before I left for the gym so they were ready to go when I got done with my workout. Good thing cause I was starving.

Yesterday, I didn’t get a workout in. Jake had been up for an hour before I finally woke so he was antsy and ready to get out of the house by the time I got up. We planned to go for a run together but instead got sidetracked by home decorating and relaxed a good portion of the day together.

Sunday, a group of friends went on a hike to Punchbowl Falls in the Gorge. The hike was beautiful and I regretted not swimming in the creek since it was almost 90 degrees outside. After the long run I did on Saturday, my legs welcomed the hike and the little bit of climbing we did definitely let me know that my legs were fatigued.

Speaking of my long run. Saturday morning, Cayly and I cruised out to the Springwater Corridor along the Willamette River where we completed a little over 8 miles! I used to run that loop often so it was good to get back to my old stomping grounds. The route was almost entirely flat except for a tiny 20 foot hill that was in our last quarter mile. I felt strong for the entire run until my hip flexor essentially gave out on the hill. The rest of the run was fine but I could feel my hip crying for the rest of the day! I think somebody needs to do some hip strengthening exercises / go to the chiropractor. Hopefully it will be in ship shape soon!

Now for a glimpse into the gorgeous wedding we attended on Saturday night at the Bisenius’ property. Congratulations to Greg and Micah, Donkey scorekeeper and Right Fielder extraordinaire, respectively!

In the lower pasture.

The sun peeking through the trees.

The menu - my favorite foods!!

 

Cayly and me cleaned up post-run.

 

The Spellmeyers (Not pictured: Henry Hudson)

I still owe you guys some recipes from the weekend: Eggplant Lasagna and Burrito Enchiladas – what? Can’t wait to share them with you!

One response

  1. Pingback: Portland Restaurant Tour | irun2eat

Leave a Reply

