Burrito-chilada – What?

Well BodyPump full on dominated me, pretty much my whole body is sore still today! I woke up SUPER early to get in a good workout and to allow time to read my Bible before I start with the kids. It was a variation of Fitnessista’s August cardio workout  which I have done before. It’s tough and very sweaty but my legs couldn’t handle the incline today so I had to modify it slightly. I was still on the treadmill for about 45 minutes and stretched for 5 then finished on the elliptical for 10 easy minutes to cool down. Check out the sunrise I saw leaving the gym!

Recipe time…

Burrito-chilada

Jake’s favorite order at a Mexican restaurant (aside from Qdoba, Baja Fresh or Chipotle) is a combo with 2 enchiladas and typically a taco on the side. I, personally, have never understood the craze for restaurant enchiladas because they are essentially shredded chicken, sauce, and cheese – an appropriate menu selection for a 4th grader.

Once Jake and I got married, I knew I would have to master the enchilada at home so I wouldn’t be outshined by Ixtapa, La Hacienda, etc, but I didn’t want to compromise my (cough) refined palate. Enter: the Burrito-chalada, a healthful and delicious blend of Mexican flavors that resembles both a burrito AND an enchilada. Don’t be intimidated by the lengthy ingredient list. Most of the ingredients are pantry items for me. If you don’t have something, sub with another! I’m all about making meals functional ones own family.

Serving size: 2 enchiladas, because 1 just isn’t enough taste-wise. Each is roughly 250 calories with the tortillas I use.

Servings: 10! Yes this made 20 enchiladas because I wanted to freeze the extras. It fed 4 on Monday night with leftovers for Jake and myself and we have 4 enchiladas tucked away in the freezer : ).

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon of olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 lb of lean ground beef

1 tsp cumin

1 generous grind of TJ’s new smoked paprika seasoning

1 tsp crushed red pepper (optional)

1 red bell pepper, chopped

2 jalapenos, diced

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed

1 can of diced tomatoes, drained

1 Cup of frozen roasted corn kernels

4+ Cups of spinach

1 1/2 Cups enchilada sauce

2 Cups cheese grated, separated into 1 cup portions

1 tsp of kosher salt

20 uncooked tortillas, cooked on both sides in a nonstick pan

Instructions:

1. Heat oil over medium high heat in a cast iron skillet. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. Saute onion for 3-5 minutes until browned and nearly translucent. Add in garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute. Keep the garlic moving so it doesn’t burn!

3. Add in ground beef or turkey or elk along with the seasoning, saute until cooked through.

4. Remove meat mixture and drain fat. Meanwhile, brown the bell pepper and jalapeno.

5. Combine in a large bowl the black beans through the salt with 1 cup of the cheese and 1 cup of the enchilada sauce and add the meat and veggies as they finish cooking.

6. Fill each tortilla with about a third cup of the mixture and place in a sprayed or foiled and sprayed 9×13 pyrex. Top with half a cup of the enchilada sauce and the remaining one cup of cheese.

7. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes, longer for browner crispier cheese.

8. Enjoy with a lime and avocado garnish and your favorite salsa..or more enchilada sauce, whatever floats your boat!

We had Jake’s parents over to enjoy this meal with us and I, of course, neglected to snap pictures a) once the enchiladas were baked and b) when we were all eating. I really am awful at the food documentary..but don’t you love our new table?!

One response

Leave a comment